Shonia Brown’s Books

ROMANCE NOVEL AND ANTHOLOGY – Nineteen years ago, Shonia Brown introduced the world to her inner world in her debut novel, A Deeper Love. Although the story pays homage to young lesbian heartbreak and new found love, Shonia’s novel transcended the LGBTIQ+ community and gained a mainstream audience as well. Five years later, she shared 25 new voices with both LGBTIQ+ and mainstream communities as editor and a featured writer of the anthology, Longing, Lust, and Love: Black Lesbian Stories. The following is a synopsis of each book.


Coffee will make you black. Beauty is skin deep. The brown paper bag test. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. You’re too dark to wear bright colors.The mind is a powerful thing. Developing negative thoughts through what the mind receives can be detrimental to any human being. Paula Travis knows this well because most of her childhood she heard words that destroyed her self-esteem, and her self-love. She grew up believing that because of her skin color she was not worthy to love herself or to be loved by another, until Angel. Angela Reynolds, known to her friends as Angel is an aspiring writer, who works for a local Atlanta theatre company. During a season that people consider the most joyous and loving time of the year, Angel finds herself at a lesbian bar on Christmas Eve soaking her wounds in rounds of Cape Cods. Her lover of two years has dumped her. Angel never expected to meet Paula Travis that night, a woman who would change her world forever. Through this brief encounter, Paula and Angel begin a new relationship and journey towards a deeper love. With the help of a few friends, these two women search for a place in their hearts and minds where negative beliefs no longer exist and only love prevails.



You’ve heard about it, you’ve read about it, most of us have been through it, the various stages of lesbian love. It starts with the lingering looks across the room at an interesting stranger, romantic e-mails, flowers, and wearing leather on your first date. Then once you have her, stage two kicks off with all night sex sessions that leave you sore but still wanting more. Soon you don’t even want to leave the house for months, and some of your friends even forget your name. Then, if you’re lucky (and not on the second date, mind you), the third stage comes around and you’ve settled into the comfy couch of your relationship. Come join Nghosi Books down memory lane or take this journey for the very first time as we introduce you to ultimate pleasure in our New Voices Series of longing, lust, and love!


The OnyxLee publisher is a renaissance woman with the desire for continuous learning and the search for opportunities to be creative and share her interests with the world. She encourages you to take this journey with her!

Evelyn Hargrove

Who is Shylee Campbell?

The Media

Site Footer